Cajun-Spiced Potato Pancakes

First post! Big thanks to everyone who helped me get this thing up: Nada for the wonderful introduction, Moose for the CSS code help, Chelsie for the beautiful header design, and Jay for the amazing photo on the header design. Alright friends, let’s eat!

I love this dish. For the past month or so, these potato cakes with a grapefruit on the side has been my number one weekend breakfast meal. The picture here really doesn’t do them justice! They’re a lot tastier in real life than through the lens of my Nikon Coolpix camera and shoddy picture-taking abilities. Side note: how absolutely ridiculous is the name ‘coolpix’ for a digital camera? And guess what colour it is? That’s right… ice blue.

Anyway, the chickpea flour in this recipe (also called gram flour) really makes the dish, so don’t skimp out and use all white flour. You should be able to find chickpea flour in most of the larger supermarkets if you look in the international food section. Although, I get it at Bulk Barn, or any other bulk mart, because it’s usually cheaper and you don’t have to buy a ton of it at once. When mixed with liquid, chickpea flour gets super sticky and heavy and is great for breading/frying food, which is primarily what it’s used for in Indian cuisine.

Ingredients:
1/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/4 cup chickpea flour
1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves (or 1 teaspoon dried thyme)
1/4 teaspoon paprika (I used smoked paprika)
Pinch cayenne pepper
1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
Water, enough to make a thickish batter (about 1/3 cup)
1 or 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 1/2 cups potato, grated (about two medium potatoes)
1 or 2 shallots, minced (or alternatively use 2 tbsp minced onion)

Method:
1. Combine flours, thyme, paprika, cayenne, black pepper, salt, and baking powder in a small bowl. Mix well.
2. Add water, little by little, until a smooth, thick batter forms.
3. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Meanwhile, add the grated potatoes and minced shallots (or onions) to the batter and mix up until everything is well coated.
4. Once the oil is nice and hot, spread the potato mixture all over the skillet and fry for about 4 or 5 minutes. The thinner the pancake, the better, so it gets crispy on the outside and not too soggy on the inside.
5. Once the frying side is browned up, flip over and fry for another 4 to 5 minutes.
6. Remove from heat and cut into triangles. If you want, season with a teeny tiny pinch more salt.
Serves: 1-3

5 Responses to “Cajun-Spiced Potato Pancakes”


  1. 1 chelsiep December 21, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Looks delicious Ross. Really looking forward to this blog 🙂

  2. 2 kirstenh January 10, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Just found you through my friend, and like the look of your recipes, in particular the fact that from what I’ve seen most are celiac friendly. I do have a question about this one though. Have you ever tried making it with all chickpea flour? If not, I guess it’s up to me to experiment! Thanks, and I’m adding you to my blogroll 🙂

  3. 3 rosscorder January 11, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    Hi Kirsten,

    Thanks! I haven’t actually tried making it with all chickpea flour, but I’ll try it! I didn’t even realize how many of the recipes are celiac friendly, but I guess it makes sense considering that I try to vary my diet and not get stuck eating too much wheat. Anyway, I’ve started tagging those recipes as ‘gluten-free.’

  4. 4 Kirsten January 12, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    Sweet, I’ll keep my eyes peeled for recipes with the gluten-free labels on the posts. Thanks 🙂

  5. 5 When Harry Met Celery October 26, 2011 at 4:53 am

    What a lovely post! I’m going to try that soon. When you have the time, do drop by my new space. You now have a humble follower!


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

My name is Ross. I'm a food loving vegan and these are some of my recipes. I'm also the owner of Hot Beans vegan takeout in Kensington Market, Toronto. Check out my 'about' page for more info. Enjoy!

Follow blog and Hot Beans updates on Twitter!

All images and recipes (unless otherwise noted) Copyright © Ross Corder and Vegan Eats Blog, 2009-2013. All rights reserved. Please do not re-post or otherwise duplicate without permission. Thanks! Also, the "gluten-free" recipe tag is meant primarily for cataloging purposes and does not necessarily ensure that the recipe is completely gluten-free. Be careful to read the labels of any pre-packaged products to ensure that they are indeed gluten-free!

