Peanut Butter Shortbread

So about a month and a half ago, I was drinking some beers and catching up with my old friend, Brannek. I was telling him that I really wanted to start a cooking blog, since I had been in the habit of writing my recipes down over the last year or so and just really wanted to get them out there to share with people. I was explaining the kind of layout I wanted, the varied types of dishes I wanted to put up, and the frequency with which I hoped to post at. He mentioned that it would be a really good idea if I focused on making a lot of quick and simple recipes that would be easy to make for people who don’t cook that much. I told him that I could understand where he was coming from, and that I had certainly planned on including a fair amount of good simple recipes, but that a lot of my cooking wasn’t always necessarily quick. And by ‘quick,’ I mean less than 30 to 40 minutes of preparing and cooking from scratch. He mentioned that he really didn’t care to spend more than 20 minutes tops in the kitchen. Fair enough. I proceeded to ask him what kinds of foods he likes or usually finds himself cooking/eating. He looked at me and said, “I like peanut butter… and I like cookies. That’s it.”

Alright, Brannek, these ones are for you… minus baking time, I’m sure you won’t be in the kitchen much longer than 20, buddy!

Ingredients:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
3/4 cup Earth Balance, room temperature**
1/2 cup organic cane sugar
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3 tablespoons natural peanut butter
Unsalted peanuts, to top cookies

Instructions:
1. In a large bowl, mix together both the flours and the salt.
2. Place the softened, room temperature Earth Balance into another mixing bowl. Beat with an electric mixer for about 30 seconds until smooth. Add the sugar and vanilla extract and beat again until smooth, about 2 minutes. Add the peanut butter and whip for another 30 seconds. Using either your hands or a wooden spoon, fold the Earth balance, sugar and peanut butter mixture into the flour mixture and mix until well incorporated and doughy.
2. Flatten the dough on the bottom of the mixing bowl as much as possible and cover with a lid or plastic wrap. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.
3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Farhenheit. Form the dough into small golf ball size balls and flatten into a cookie. Lay them out on a very lightly oiled baking tray and top with peanuts. Bake for about 15 minutes, until golden brown.
Makes: 18 to 20 cookies

**You might be able to try another vegan margarine, but I highly recommend picking up Earth Balance. While it’s still a processed oil, which  obviously makes it not optimally healthy (in large quantities), it’s non-hydrogenated and uses non-GMO soy beans and canola seeds. It’s the only margarine I touch, for sure.

You can buy Earth Balance in a little tub like most margarines, but it also comes in stick form. The sticks are great, because in a package of 4, each stick measures a 1/2 cup, making especially good for any cooking or baking recipe in which you need to substitute for butter. You can buy them at Whole Foods or probably most smaller health food stores. If you’re in Toronto, go to Panacea, because they’re vegan and they rule.

0 Responses to “Peanut Butter Shortbread”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

My name is Ross. I'm a food loving vegan and these are some of my recipes. I'm also the owner of Hot Beans vegan takeout in Kensington Market, Toronto. Check out my 'about' page for more info. Enjoy!

Follow blog and Hot Beans updates on Twitter!

All images and recipes (unless otherwise noted) Copyright © Ross Corder and Vegan Eats Blog, 2009-2013. All rights reserved. Please do not re-post or otherwise duplicate without permission. Thanks! Also, the "gluten-free" recipe tag is meant primarily for cataloging purposes and does not necessarily ensure that the recipe is completely gluten-free. Be careful to read the labels of any pre-packaged products to ensure that they are indeed gluten-free!

