Roasted Tomato-Basil Soup

I’ve been mentioning to some friends lately that I’m getting a bit worried that my blog is becoming a little one-dimensional. It seems that all I ever post on here are soups. I make a lot of soup. Soups and stews. They’re tasty, fun to make, and there’s usually plenty of leftovers. I was going to post a non-soup recipe before I threw this one up, but I’ve been crazy busy this month and will most likely continue to be until the beginning of April. So, sorry if I’m slightly absent during the month of March through the beginning of April!

The other night, Brooks and I had some friends over at his place for another one of our food parties. One of the dishes I served was this soup. We went with an Italian food theme to go along with our hilariously narrated game of Mafia. As per usual, the night was an overall success.

Ingredients:
8 plum tomatoes (make sure they’re ripe and firm)
½ onion, cut into chunks
2 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
¼ cup sundried tomatoes, chopped
2 cups low-sodium or homemade vegetable broth
½ cup water
Handful fresh basil
2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar

Instructions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. On a baking tray lined with parchment paper, toss together the tomatoes, onion, garlic, olive oil, a generous pinch of sea salt, and black pepper to taste. Throw into the oven and roast for 50 minutes., stirring halfway through.
2. Add the sundried tomatoes and roast for 10 more minutes.
3. Remove tomatoes from the oven. In a medium or large saucepan, heat the vegetable broth and water to a simmer.
4. Add the roasted tomato mixture to an upright blender with the vegetable broth, water, and fresh basil. Blend until smooth (you’ll probably have to do this in two batches, depending on the size of your blender).
5. Pour the blended soup into the saucepan used for the vegetable broth and water. Stir in the balsamic vinegar. If needed, season to taste with more salt, pepper, and fresh basil.
Serves: 4 or 5

2 Responses to “Roasted Tomato-Basil Soup”


  1. 1 Dre March 7, 2010 at 8:13 am

    I have been eating so much soup lately, I keep thinking I must be lazy with chewing these days. Ican’t wait to try this one.


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

My name is Ross. I'm a food loving vegan and these are some of my recipes. I'm also the owner of Hot Beans vegan takeout in Kensington Market, Toronto. Check out my 'about' page for more info. Enjoy!

Follow blog and Hot Beans updates on Twitter!

All images and recipes (unless otherwise noted) Copyright © Ross Corder and Vegan Eats Blog, 2009-2013. All rights reserved. Please do not re-post or otherwise duplicate without permission. Thanks! Also, the "gluten-free" recipe tag is meant primarily for cataloging purposes and does not necessarily ensure that the recipe is completely gluten-free. Be careful to read the labels of any pre-packaged products to ensure that they are indeed gluten-free!

