Peanut Butter Pancakes

This is the first time I’ve tried this. I’ve made pancakes a bunch of times, but never with peanut butter. Like most North American children my age, I really like peanut butter. I’ve made peanut butter fritters once (a snack that I made while thinking about what would happen if I deep-fried peanut butter). I remember that when I worked at Fresh, we used to put tahini in the pancake batter, so I figured good ol’ PB would probably turn out at least half decent. They turned out a bit better than half decent. Not my best work, since I found them to be a little dense, but I still think they’re fairly awesome regardless. I’ll probably come back to this recipe soon and work on it.

Ingredients:
1 cup spelt flour
1/2 cup unbleached, all purpose flour
1 1/3 cups soy milk
1/4 cup natural peanut butter
1/3 cup pure maple syrup
3 tablespoons water
2 tablespoons canola oil
1 tablespoon organic cane sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon pure almond extract (or 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract)
Sea salt, pinch

Instructions:
1. Preheat your oven to 200 degrees Fahrenheit.
2. In an upright blender, combine all the ingredients and blend until smooth. Add a tiny bit more water if it’s too thick.
3. Heat a large ungreased skillet over medium-heat until nice and hot. Add a large dollop of batter to the pan and tilt around a little bit until it’s about 5 inches in diameter. Or you could make them smaller too, I like my pancakes a bit thinner though.
4. After about a minute or two, depending on how hot your skillet is, the top of the pancakes should be starting to bubble. Flip them over and cook for another minute or two.
5. Pop the finished pancakes into the oven to keep them warm while you make the rest.
Makes: 6 to 8 pancakes

0 Responses to “Peanut Butter Pancakes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

My name is Ross. I'm a food loving vegan and these are some of my recipes. I'm also the owner of Hot Beans vegan takeout in Kensington Market, Toronto. Check out my 'about' page for more info. Enjoy!

Follow blog and Hot Beans updates on Twitter!

All images and recipes (unless otherwise noted) Copyright © Ross Corder and Vegan Eats Blog, 2009-2013. All rights reserved. Please do not re-post or otherwise duplicate without permission. Thanks! Also, the "gluten-free" recipe tag is meant primarily for cataloging purposes and does not necessarily ensure that the recipe is completely gluten-free. Be careful to read the labels of any pre-packaged products to ensure that they are indeed gluten-free!

