Potato and Cucumber Salad

So Brooks and I had another giant dinner party last week. I got a chance to fire up the BBQ for the first time this season and it was another success. We fed about 30 people, it was nuts. I remember making Brooks take some photos, so once I get around to hassling him for them, I’ll probably put them up on here to share with you. Or Brooks, if you’re reading this, which you probably are, just send those over. Thanks, buddy.

Anyway, I made a variation of this dish at the BBQ as an appetizer salad, only I used chickpeas instead of potatoes. You could always throw in some chickpeas to beef up the protein, but I want to keep this one simple and the dill goes so good with the cucumber and potatoes that it’s all you really need. I probably should have made it with potatoes at Brooks’, but I made veggie kebabs that already had potatoes on them and I didn’t want to get redundant, you know? The kebabs were definitely one of the crowd favourites, I think. I basted them with the miso glaze from this recipe and I borrowed an awesome recipe from Vegan Dad for some seitan ‘beef’ chunks that I skewered with the veggies. Vegan Dad rules and I suggest everyone reading this check out his webspace.

The baby potatoes used in the recipe are also called ‘new potatoes.’ Basically, these tiny tubers are miniature varieties of potatoes which are harvested immaturely in either the spring of summer. It’s the same deal as baby corn, but not creepy looking. New potatoes are usually available in all different kinds of varieties. The young skins are super thin, so you don’t have to bother peeling them, which would be tedious anyway. I used white potatoes in this recipe, because Yukon Golds weren’t available at the grocery I was at last night and didn’t really want to wait another day before making this recipe! Also, make sure you give your potatoes a good scrub under running water before cooking them.

Ingredients:
18 to 20 baby Yukon Gold potatoes, washed (red potatoes are good too)
1/4 cup tahini
1/4 cup water
1/2 clove garlic, finely minced or grated
2 tablespoons + 1/2 teaspoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon organic cane sugar
Sea salt, to taste
4 cups cucumber, diced
8 cherry or grape tomatoes, halved
3 stalks green onion, thinly sliced
1 cup fresh dill, chopped
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika
Freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Instructions:
1. Fill a large saucepan with well salted water and bring to a boil. Add the whole baby potatoes and cook until fork tender, about 13 or 14 minutes. Drain and let cool to room temperature.
2. In a small bowl, whisk together the tahini, water, garlic, lemon juice, and sugar with a fork until well combined. Season with a good pinch of salt.
3. Once the potatoes have cooled, cut them in half. In a large mixing bowl, combine the potatoes, cucumber, tomatoes, and green onions. Pour in the tahini dressing and mix well.
4. Stir in the fresh dill, olive oil, and smoked paprika. Season with a nice, fat pinch of salt and a few grinds from your pepper mill.
Serves: 3 to 4

1 Response to “Potato and Cucumber Salad”


  1. 1 conradvisionquest April 28, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    mmmm, i love dill. might have to try this…
    ~wendy
    http://conradvisionquest.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

My name is Ross. I'm a food loving vegan and these are some of my recipes. I'm also the owner of Hot Beans vegan takeout in Kensington Market, Toronto. Check out my 'about' page for more info. Enjoy!

Follow blog and Hot Beans updates on Twitter!

All images and recipes (unless otherwise noted) Copyright © Ross Corder and Vegan Eats Blog, 2009-2013. All rights reserved. Please do not re-post or otherwise duplicate without permission. Thanks! Also, the "gluten-free" recipe tag is meant primarily for cataloging purposes and does not necessarily ensure that the recipe is completely gluten-free. Be careful to read the labels of any pre-packaged products to ensure that they are indeed gluten-free!

