Asparagus Linguine

It seems like summer is coming up pretty fast in Toronto this year. It’s already the first of June and the tail end of May was scorching. Aside from the increased shorts wearing and patio beer drinking, I’m mostly looking forward to the season’s first wave of fresh berries. In fact, I’ve already seen some raspberries and strawberries popping up at the local markets this past week. With peak season of asparagus coming to an end soon, I figured I should have at least one more recipe up here. I was seriously craving some comfort food last night, so I predictably went right for the pasta. Nothing too elaborate about this dish, just a bunch of linguine tossed in garlicky olive oil and fresh sautéd asparagus. The lemon adds a bit of tang and the tarragon gives it a nice anise flavour. If you’re not into the licorice-like flavour of anise and tarragon, you could substitute some fresh basil or parsley. Even thyme would be good too!

Ingredients:
Linguine pasta, enough for two or three people
2 to 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
¼ cup onion, diced
2 to 3 cloves garlic, minced
10 to 12 stalks asparagus, woody stems removed and sliced into 1 inch pieces
1 cup cherry tomatoes, cut in half
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
2 teaspoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 heaping tablespoon fresh tarragon, minced

Instructions:

1. Bring a large saucepan of salted water to a boil and cook the linguine until al denté, according to package instructions.
2. In a large skillet heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and garlic. Sauté, stirring frequently, for about 3 minutes until fragrant and the onion is beginning to soften.
3. Add the asparagus and sauté for another 4 minutes, until it begins to turn bright green. Add the tomatoes along with a good pinch of salt and pepper and sauté for another 2 minutes, stirring often.
4. Add the cooked pasta, lemon juice and fresh tarragon. Stir it all together and serve.
Serves: 2 to 3

1 Response to “Asparagus Linguine”


  1. 1 Matt June 4, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Hey there, great site!! Some really great recipes you’ve got, keep em coming! I was inspired to try this one out, and to be completely honest it’s the best thing I’ve ever cooked!! I’m a huge fan of asparagus and this is the best application I’ve found for it. This was much easier than expected and just tastes great, I’m devouring it down as I type. Only changes I made were adding Presidents Choice “World’s Greatest Meatless Chicken Breast” and a little bit of tomato sauce. I think this will be a regular meal for a while, thanks a bunch!


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

My name is Ross. I'm a food loving vegan and these are some of my recipes. I'm also the owner of Hot Beans vegan takeout in Kensington Market, Toronto. Check out my 'about' page for more info. Enjoy!

Follow blog and Hot Beans updates on Twitter!

All images and recipes (unless otherwise noted) Copyright © Ross Corder and Vegan Eats Blog, 2009-2013. All rights reserved. Please do not re-post or otherwise duplicate without permission. Thanks! Also, the "gluten-free" recipe tag is meant primarily for cataloging purposes and does not necessarily ensure that the recipe is completely gluten-free. Be careful to read the labels of any pre-packaged products to ensure that they are indeed gluten-free!

