Roasted Beet and Barley Salad

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted something. I took a summer course this year so that I could finish my degree quicker and since the semester is just finishing up, I’ve been quite occupied with studying/essay writing. Between school and work, I’ve been an awfully busy boy. Even though I’ve been dreaming up plenty of berry-related recipes with it being June and all, I’m pretty stoked on this recipe, because it’s been a long time since I’ve cooked with beets. I had originally made a version where I boiled the beets in their skins, peeled and diced them up, and then marinated them before adding them to the barley salad, but it ended up kind of lame. So I figured that since roasted root vegetables are almost always delicious if done right, I went this route instead. Oh yeah, this recipe is for my buddy Dave (a.k.a. blog superfan), to whom I promised I could think of a better use for beets than shredding them raw and putting them into a mixed greens salad!

Ingredients:
1 cup barley
3 cups water
2 medium or large beets, peeled and cut into thin wedges
1 cup walnuts*
2 green onions, sliced
Handful fresh basil, chopped
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon freshly squeezed orange juice
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Instructions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
2. In a saucepan bring the barley and the water to a boil. Once boiling, immediately turn heat down to low, cover, and let simmer for about 45 to 50 minutes, until the barley is cooked and has absorbed most of the water. If the barley is already cooked after 50 minutes and there’s still some water floating around the saucepan, just drain the grains in a metal strainer over the sink.
3. Meanwhile, toss the beet wedges with 1 tablespoon of the olive oil and spread them out onto a baking tray lined with parchment paper. Season with a nice pinch of sea salt and black pepper. Throw them into the oven and let them roast for about 40 to 45 minutes, or until they’re cooked through and just beginning to blacked around the edges. Be sure to shake them about halfway though so they don’t burn on one side.
4. Let beets cool a bit before handling. In a large bowl, stir together the beets and cooked barley with the walnuts, green onion, basil, 1 tablespoon olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and orange juice. Generously season with a bit more salt and pepper.
Serves: 3 to 5

*If you’re using raw and not roasted walnuts, just toast them in a pan over medium-heat until fragrant. Be careful not to burn them.

0 Responses to “Roasted Beet and Barley Salad”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

My name is Ross. I'm a food loving vegan and these are some of my recipes. I'm also the owner of Hot Beans vegan takeout in Kensington Market, Toronto. Check out my 'about' page for more info. Enjoy!

Follow blog and Hot Beans updates on Twitter!

All images and recipes (unless otherwise noted) Copyright © Ross Corder and Vegan Eats Blog, 2009-2013. All rights reserved. Please do not re-post or otherwise duplicate without permission. Thanks! Also, the "gluten-free" recipe tag is meant primarily for cataloging purposes and does not necessarily ensure that the recipe is completely gluten-free. Be careful to read the labels of any pre-packaged products to ensure that they are indeed gluten-free!

