Cashew-Basil Noodles

A few months ago, my wonderful friend, Andrea, brought me some herb plants from a farm that she had been working at. From among her fragrant green loot, I was particularly excited about the Thai basil plant, which has since blossomed with some pretty awesome purple flowers. I really love Thai basil’s slight liquorice-like anise flavour and it always reminds of eating spicy basil noodles from one of my favourite Thai/Vietnamese restaurants in Oakville, Ontario, the suburbs where I spent much of my (ongoing) formative years. I’ve no doubt mentioned this before, but noodles are huge comfort food for me, so I was really looking forward to trying this stir-fry dish out. I think it turned out fairly good. It’s a pretty simple dish; it reminds me of the Asian stir-fries I used to make daily when I first started cooking for myself.

One more thing about my pal, Andrea: she’s a seriously great writer who actually just published a little interview with me about veganism for our friend’s online publication, ‘Monsters vs. Me.’ Read the interview here. Thanks, buddy!

Ingredients:
125 grams rice noodles
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon fresh ginger root, peeled and minced
1 cup onion, diced
1/2 large green pepper, cut into chunks
8 to 10 cremini mushrooms (can use white button mushrooms too)
1 tablespoon + 2 teaspoons tamari (or other good quality soy sauce)
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
3 tbsp water
Big handful of Thai basil, sliced thinly
1/2 cup roasted cashews, unsalted
3/4 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
1 green onion, sliced

Instructions:
1. Cook the rice noodles according to package instructions. Set aside for later. Don’t overcook them; mushy rice noodles are the worst.
2. In a wok or a very large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Toss in the garlic, ginger, and onion. Sauté, stirring frequently, until the onion is beginning to soften up, about 8 minutes.
3. Add the green peppers and mushrooms. Sauté for another 3 or 4 minutes. Add the soy sauce and a good pinch of salt and pepper. Stir together and cook for another minute.
4. Add the water, basil, and cashews. Stir together and cook for another 2 minutes, until some of the water has boiled off. Add the sesame oil and rice noodles to the wok or skillet and heat through for a minute, mixing everything together. (If the rice noodles are all stuck together in your strainer, just run them under warm water for a few seconds before adding to your veggies).
5. Garnish with the sliced green onions.
Serves: 2 to 3

3 Responses to “Cashew-Basil Noodles”


  1. 1 Andrea Dyer July 17, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    This is most appro, given my love for cashews mingling amongst food. Thanks for the mention…and for letting me probe your brain.

  2. 2 Basil Basics July 18, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Ross,

    Sounds like a very easy recipe to make but loaded with great flavor. Thanks for sharing!

    — Dan
    Basil Basics

  3. 3 irmagination August 8, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    I am also a noodles lover! Great blog!


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

My name is Ross. I'm a food loving vegan and these are some of my recipes. I'm also the owner of Hot Beans vegan takeout in Kensington Market, Toronto. Check out my 'about' page for more info. Enjoy!

Follow blog and Hot Beans updates on Twitter!

All images and recipes (unless otherwise noted) Copyright © Ross Corder and Vegan Eats Blog, 2009-2013. All rights reserved. Please do not re-post or otherwise duplicate without permission. Thanks! Also, the "gluten-free" recipe tag is meant primarily for cataloging purposes and does not necessarily ensure that the recipe is completely gluten-free. Be careful to read the labels of any pre-packaged products to ensure that they are indeed gluten-free!

