Curried Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup

Well, it’s Christmas time once again at the Corder residence. Thus far, it has proven to be another merry one, complete with my mother having baked five batches of shortbread, six hundred butter tarts of varying fruit flavours, and eight different kinds of crumble for our three family members. Moreover, my father had once again complained twice on Christmas morning of receiving too many gifts, yet quickly and firmly protested my casual suggestion of returning them all for a full refund before he had the chance to unwrap any of them. It’s Boxing Day as I write this and I had toyed earlier with the idea of leaving the warm comforts of my parents’ home and traveling to a shopping mall to bask in the glory of a veritable consumer hell; a place where the moral universe is turned upside down as the ugly free-for-all leaves the courteous and weak trampled beneath the boots of the stalwart deal shoppers a mere thirty-six hours after the Christmas spirit saw both parties side-by-side at midnight mass wishing each other peace in goodwill. While it seems exactly like the type of spectacle I would love to behold, I’ve decided to stay in and watch movies with my mom. I think I made the right choice.

Happy holidays, friends.

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons canola oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1½ teaspoons ginger, peeled and minced
½ cup onion, diced
¾ cup carrot, peeled and chopped
1½ teaspoons mustard seeds
4 cups sweet potato, peeled and chopped
1 teaspoon tamari (or other good quality soy sauce)
1¾ teaspoons curry powder
1 teaspoon cumin
¾ teaspoon coriander
¼ teaspoon chili flakes
Pinch ground cloves
Pinch cinnamon
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
¼ cup natural peanut butter
4¼ cups water
2 tablespoons organic cane sugar
1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon freshly squeezed lemon juice

Instructions:
1. In a large saucepan, heat the canola oil over medium heat. Add the garlic, ginger, onion, carrot, and mustard seeds. Sauté, stirring frequently, for about 4 to 5 minutes.
2. Add the sweet potato, tamari, curry powder, cumin, coriander, chili flakes, cloves, cinnamon, and a big pinch of salt and pepper. Sauté, stirring frequently, for 3 to 4 minutes.
3. Stir in the peanut butter and once it’s melted into the mixture, stir in the water and sugar. Turn heat to high and bring to a boil. Once boiling, immediatedly turn heat to low and cover. Let simmer for about 20 to 25 minutes, or until the sweet potatoes are cooked through.
4. Transfer mixture to an upright blender or a food processor and purée until smooth. Stir in the lemon juice and season to taste with more salt.

4 Responses to “Curried Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup”


  1. 1 Fabio January 5, 2011 at 9:52 am

    Very nice blog man! I loved the way u take the pictures, I`m vegan too and here is some of my pics http://www.vista-se.com.br/comida

    And here my vegan site http://www.vista-se.com.br

    Regards from Brazil.

  2. 2 Kim Lucy Sharpe December 14, 2011 at 2:55 am

    This sounds great, I am thinking of making it as a Christmas starter, how many does it serve?

  3. 3 Ashley February 8, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    This looks so delicious!!!
    I am definitely going to try it. From one Canadian vegan to another, hello!

  4. 4 Adan December 12, 2012 at 8:44 am

    It’s going to be end of mine day, but before finish I am reading this impressive piece of writing to improve my knowledge.


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

My name is Ross. I'm a food loving vegan and these are some of my recipes. I'm also the owner of Hot Beans vegan takeout in Kensington Market, Toronto. Check out my 'about' page for more info. Enjoy!

Follow blog and Hot Beans updates on Twitter!

All images and recipes (unless otherwise noted) Copyright © Ross Corder and Vegan Eats Blog, 2009-2013. All rights reserved. Please do not re-post or otherwise duplicate without permission. Thanks! Also, the "gluten-free" recipe tag is meant primarily for cataloging purposes and does not necessarily ensure that the recipe is completely gluten-free. Be careful to read the labels of any pre-packaged products to ensure that they are indeed gluten-free!

