Roasted Garlic-Apple-Celeriac Soup

1

Alright, it’s been a long time since I’ve lasted posted. And perhaps a longer time before that. Every now and then, this blog still comes up in conversation and even though during the past year I generally haven’t had any real interest in reviving it, a part of me still missed it a little bit. Well, I think I’m finally ready to pull this site from the blogosphere limbo and keep it alive with semi-regular posts. And by semi-regular, I mean once every two weeks or so. The restaurant keeps me busy, but it shouldn’t keep me too busy to not be able to crank out some new recipes every now and then. I’m at a point right now with Hot Beans where it becomes counterproductive to be working there for more than 50 or 55 hours a week. I’ve found that constantly working long hours six days a week, while being a great labour cost saver, leaves me in a stagnant place creatively. When I’m done work, I don’t want to think about food, and when I don’t want to think about food, it bums me out, and when I’m bummed out, I don’t think positively about the restaurant, and when I don’t think positively about the restaurant and where it’s going, it’s harder to push it to the next level… and you can see the vicious cycle. Anyway, long story short, I’ve been taking a few more days off each month, and using that time to try out some food and cookin’ stuffs that’s on my mind. And I feel good! I’m thinking about food in a fun and creative way again, it feels good. This is a good outlet for those ideas. It’ll keep me sharp (hopefully).

Alright, onto the recipe. This is a good one. Simple too, not a lot of ingredients. It calls for 1/2 head of garlic, which is a little weird, but I found that a full head was going to make it too garlicky. Just spread the other half on toast or something, it’ll be delicious. Look for fresh thyme that doesn’t have thick, woody stems. That will make it easier to work with, because if the stems are thin and delicate, you can just mince them up with the leaves. If they’re woody and thick, you gotta pick the leaves off and it’s just more tedious and time consuming. Celeriac is kind of tedious too, but not really. Once you get past how gnarly they look, it’s not that hard. Just peel as much of the skin as you can and pare off the rest of crazy root part on the bottom. It oxidizes once peeled (like potatoes, but not as fast as potatoes), so don’t keep it exposed to the air for too long before you roast it. The roommate, ol’ W, came up huge as always with the photo taking.

Ingredients
1/2 head garlic, roasted (click here and follow the nice lady’s instructions for how to roast garlic, it’s easy peasy)
Extra-virgin olive oil
2 pounds celeriac, peeled and cut into small chunks
3 apples (McIntosh or Gala), peeled, cored, and cut into chunks
Fresh thyme, minced
1/2 onion, sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup dry white wine
4 cups water
1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon sugar
Sea salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 375ºF.
2. In a medium-sized mixing bowl, toss celeriac and apples with about 1 tablespoon olive oil, 1 tablespoon minced fresh thyme, and a pinch of salt and pepper. Lay onto an lightly oiled baking tray and roast for about 30 to 40 minutes, until the celeriac is tender. You can roast the garlic at the same time.
3. In a large sauce pan or a small stockpot, heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat. Sauté the onion and minced garlic for a few minutes, stirring frequently, until onion is softened.
4. Add the roasted garlic, celeriac, apples, white wine, and a pinch of salt. Stir together and sauté for another two minutes or so.
5. Stir in the water and sugar, turn heat to high and bring to a boil. Once boiling, turn heat off and stir in 1 tablespoon of minced thyme.
6. Now get out your upright blender and transfer in batches. Purée until smooth and season to taste with extra salt and pepper as needed. If it’s too thick, add more water. Tip: drizzle in a bit of olive oil while the blender is running for some extra richness.

0 Responses to “Roasted Garlic-Apple-Celeriac Soup”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

My name is Ross. I'm a food loving vegan and these are some of my recipes. I'm also the owner of Hot Beans vegan takeout in Kensington Market, Toronto. Check out my 'about' page for more info. Enjoy!

Follow blog and Hot Beans updates on Twitter!

All images and recipes (unless otherwise noted) Copyright © Ross Corder and Vegan Eats Blog, 2009-2013. All rights reserved. Please do not re-post or otherwise duplicate without permission. Thanks! Also, the "gluten-free" recipe tag is meant primarily for cataloging purposes and does not necessarily ensure that the recipe is completely gluten-free. Be careful to read the labels of any pre-packaged products to ensure that they are indeed gluten-free!

