Spinach-Artichoke Dip

spinach_artichoke_dip

Hey friends. The plan was to post this a couple weeks ago, but life got in the way. Stuff got really busy and this post got put on the back burner. I swear to you, that’s what happened, I’m not letting this blog slip back into the bloggosphere’s nebulous limbo… at least not yet. While the restaurant, and the 60+ hours a week that it sucks from my soul, is clearly my life’s priority, I do enjoy making and archiving these little recipes for both myself and whomever is out there reading this. That being said, I had a very busy February. I just got back from a little mini vacation to Philadelphia, which was great. Ate some good food, drank some good beer, and met up with some friends that were down there playing a concert. It’s a wonderful city and I suggest you check it out if you haven’t yet already. Some recommendations for food and/or drink: Blackbird Pizzeria and Memphis Taproom. Before my little getaway to Philly, nearly every second away from the restaurant was spent in search of a new apartment and I’m happy to say, my new roommate and I found one couple weeks ago for April 1st. Now, the downside of this is that Warren, whom you may or may not know takes all of these nice photos for me, will no longer be living with me come next month. Sad indeed.

This recipe is super easy to make. Now, if you’re like most people, myself included, sometimes you buy a bundle of fresh herbs, use them in one thing, and let them go bad in the back of the fridge. This recipe only calls for a couple tablespoons of fresh dill and we all know that isn’t quite a full bunch’s worth. Try using the rest up in this recipe, or maybe this recipe. Or this recipe. I think the last one was a joke.

Ingredients
3 cups spinach, sautéd
1 14oz. can artichoke hearts, drained and rinsed
1 heaping tablespoon tahini
Juice of 1 lemon (about ¼ cup)
2 tablespoons white wine
2 tablespoons fresh dill, minced
Extra-virgin olive oil, to taste
Sea salt, to taste
Daiya cheese, shredded mozzarella flavour

Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 375ºF.
2. Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat and sauté the spinach until wilted.
3. In a food processor, combine the spinach, artichoke hearts, tahini, lemon juice, white wine, and dill. Process a few seconds until the artichokes are broken down. Season to taste with salt and drizzle in some more olive oil (a couple tablespoons approx.) while the processor is running.
4. Pour your mixture into an appropriately sized oven safe dish, top it with as much Daiya and you want, and pop it into the oven until the cheese is melted. Easy peasy.

4 Responses to “Spinach-Artichoke Dip”


  1. 1 Geri Fargher March 15, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    This looks quite tasty. I haven’t had something like this since I had to give up dairy in 2001. But I have a question. Two of my friends are recovering alcoholics and another is allergic to alcohol (as in anaphylaxis-type allergic). What would you suggest instead of the wine?

  2. 3 Barbara Jane March 15, 2013 at 8:37 pm

    Hallelujah! This recipe makes me happy 🙂

  3. 4 janet @ the taste space March 24, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    I always have to pick a few dishes with dill when I buy a bunch. I will keep this in mind for my next dill adventure. Yum!


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

My name is Ross. I'm a food loving vegan and these are some of my recipes. I'm also the owner of Hot Beans vegan takeout in Kensington Market, Toronto. Check out my 'about' page for more info. Enjoy!

Follow blog and Hot Beans updates on Twitter!

All images and recipes (unless otherwise noted) Copyright © Ross Corder and Vegan Eats Blog, 2009-2013. All rights reserved. Please do not re-post or otherwise duplicate without permission. Thanks! Also, the "gluten-free" recipe tag is meant primarily for cataloging purposes and does not necessarily ensure that the recipe is completely gluten-free. Be careful to read the labels of any pre-packaged products to ensure that they are indeed gluten-free!

